Awards from Premier
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Each year at Premier’s annual Breakthroughs Conference and Exhibition, Premier recognizes the outstanding work of its health system members and contracted suppliers for their efforts to improve community health. See the list of 2018 winners here.

AEIX* Risk Management Award

Recognizes AEIX members that created practices to improve patient safety and enhance quality of care. Winners are selected based on the new practice’s effectiveness and potential applicability to other healthcare settings.

*American Excess Insurance Exchange, RRG (AEIX) is an excess professional liability program serving Premier owners and managed by Premier Insurance Management Services Inc. since 1990.

Cares Award

Sponsored by Premier and its member hospitals, the Cares Award recognizes exemplary efforts by not-for-profit community organizations to improve the health of populations in need.

Illuminating Excellence Award

Presented during the Culinary Creations dinner at Premier’s Annual Breakthroughs Conference, the award recognizes an outstanding foodservice professional as Premier’s foodservice director of the year. The winner is selected based on improvements in operations, participation in Premier activities, professional/community activities and personal achievements.

QUEST® Award for High-Value Healthcare

This year, the award recognizes as winners the QUEST hospitals that achieved top performance in all 5 dimensions of QUEST2020™, as well as the top performers in six peer groups. The new peer group improvement award is designed to recognize QUEST2020 top performing hospitals’ success within relevant peer groups that address hospital size and academic status. The six peer group categories are Academic Hospitals, Critical Access Hospitals and each of the four cost segments: Council of Teaching Hospitals (COTH) ≥ 375 beds, COTH < 375 beds, Non-COTH ≥175 beds and Non-COTH < 175 beds.

QUEST hospitals achieving top performance in any 4 of the 5 dimensions of QUEST2020, as well as the second best performers in the six peer groups, are also recognized as award finalists. Read the methodology.

Premier Alliance Excellence Award

The award is given annually to healthcare organizations that exemplify the highest level of industry innovation and advancements in delivering high-quality, cost-effective care.

Premier HIIN Award for Excellence in Patient Safety Across the Board

Recognizes top performing hospitals in the Premier Hospital Improvement Innovation Network (HIIN) that have demonstrated excellence in performance in the 13 patient safety adverse event areas (AEA) of focus and with active participation in the HIIN program. Read the methodology.

Supply Chain Excellence Award

Honors top performers based on member submissions to Premier’s SupplyFocus® application, and given based on seven peer groups: community (both fewer and greater than the peer group median for acute beds in service), teaching/academic (both fewer and greater than the peer group median for acute beds in service), critical access and integrated delivery network (both fewer and greater than the peer group median for acute beds in service). We measure performance by blending four case mix index-adjusted supply expense ratios.

Supply Chain Innovation Award

Recognizes members who worked with Premier to introduce the most innovative, high-impact supply chain improvement ideas. A team of Premier’s Strategic Advisory Committee members, past winners, well-known third-party experts, and Premier leadership evaluate entries and select the winners. Premier members or field representatives can submit entries.

Supplier Diversity Award

Recognizes contracted suppliers who have made important contributions in developing and nurturing diversity programs in their organizations and communities within the Premier alliance. Also honors member hospitals and health systems that have established, as a part of their social responsibility initiatives, active programs to evaluate and support minority-, women- and veteran-owned enterprises, as well as small businesses, available through the Premier contract portfolio. Both suppliers and members can apply for the award, and are measured on engagement in diversity initiatives through community involvement, diversity business outreach initiatives, benchmarking and best practices sharing.

Supplier Horizon Award

Recognizes suppliers that have been contracted with premier for less than three years have received the Horizon Award for exceptional local customer service and engagement, value creation through clinical excellence and commitment to lower costs.

Supplier Legacy Award

Recognizes suppliers that have been contracted with Premier for more than 3 years received the Legacy Award for their longstanding work to support Premier members through exceptional local customer service and engagement, value creation through clinical excellence and commitment to lower costs.

Alternate Site Supplier Award

Recognizes Premier Contracted Suppliers who are working to extend product and service lines and lower supply chain costs for alternate site providers and businesses. Suppliers are evaluated on value of contracted offerings, level of service, ease of contract attachment and activation, and overall support for Premier’s Alternate Site Programs.

Alternate Site Sponsor Award

Recognizes Premier Sponsors of Affiliates who are utilizing all available resources to lower supply chain costs for alternate site affiliates through extensive participation in Premier’s purchasing program. Sponsors are evaluated on commitment of resources, involvement in new initiatives, innovation, and overall participation in Premier’s Alternate Site Programs.

ASCEND® Peak Performance Award

Honors ASCEND® members for their commitment to the values and core requirements of the ASCEND program. The award recognizes one ASCEND member that has been in the program less than 3 years and one ASCEND member that has been in the program 3 years or longer. Winners are selected based on their participation and ongoing compliance across the ASCEND program, participation in ASCEND sponsored educational events and documented savings via the ASCEND program contracts.

ASCEND® Clinical Partner Award

Recognizes ASCEND® members who have made important clinical contributions to the ASCEND program. This involves a high level of engagement with the ASCEND clinical process, engaging clinical team members within their organization to share best practices and sharing key clinical learnings throughout the ASCEND membership for adoption of industry best practices.